Tel: +44 (0)20 7607 7070

Robert Peston, David Aaronovitch and Matthew D’Ancona Win at the EI Journalism Awards

18th November 2011

Britain’s top journalists gathered in London to pay tribute to their colleagues who have captured the attention of readers and media professionals at the Editorial Intelligence (EI) journalism awards breakfast.

The BBC’s Robert Peston accepted and award as well as presenting one; The Times’ Danny Finkelstein was a winner, as were David Aaronovitch and Matthew D’Ancona.


  • Mainstream media blogger: Robert Peston (BBC)
  • Twitter commentator: David Aaronovitch (@DAaronovitch)
  • Commentariat of the year: Matthew d'Ancona (Sunday Telegraph & London Evening Standard)
  • Best online comment site: Mumsnet
  • Business commentator: John Gapper (FT)
  • Cultural commentator: Simon Kuper (FT)
  • Foreign commentator: David Pilling (FT)
  • Best comment pages: FT
  • Political commentator: Daniel Finkelstein (The Times)
  • Sketch commentator: Ann Treneman (The Times)
  • Sports commentator: Mike Atherton (The Times)
  • Columnist of the year: Hugo Rifkind (The Times)
  • Independent blogger: Sunny Hundal ( &
  • Media commentator: Peter Wilby (New Statesman)
  • Chair's choice - chosen by Harvey Goldsmith: London Evening Standard
  • Economics commentator: Irwin Stelzer (Sunday Times)

Agile web development by Byte9