A Leading International Speaker Consultation & Booking Service

International Speaker Bureau

Tel: +44 (0)20 7607 7070


Chortle Awards 2014

27th March 2014

The Chortle Awards took place this week at the Ministry of Sound in London, this was the 14th year that the annual awards have taken place.

Comedians and TV stars attended the awards, which focus on stand-up comedians. The shortlists for each category are drawn up by a panel of judges with a public vote picking the winners. The website reports that over 9,000 fans of live comedy voted this year. This year Arthur Smith hosted the award ceremony.

The winners of this year’s awards included Bridget Christie, who won two awards-the first was for best show and the second for the radio award. Simon Amstell won the award for Best DVD ‘Live at BBC’ and Ed Gamble was given the award for Best Compere. The Breakthrough Act sponsored by Timeout was awarded to Sara Pascoe.

Other winners included The Horne Section (Music and Varierty Award), Richard Herring (Internet Award) for the fourth year in a row and Paul Sinha (Club Comic). 

Agile web development by Byte9