A Leading International Speaker Consultation & Booking Service

International Speaker Bureau

Tel: +44 (0)20 7607 7070


Inaugral conference of the Institute for New Economic Thinking takes place at Kings College, Cambridge between the 8th and 11th April

8th April 2010

With a multi-million dollar pledge from George Soros, The Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET) has been established at Oxford .  Their mission is to create an environment nourished by open discourse and critical thinking where the next generation of scholars has the support to go beyond our prevailing economic paradigms and advance the culture of change.  The Institute will be in partnership with the James Martin 21st Century School also based at the University and is headed up by Sir David Hendry.

Dr Ian Goldin, the Director of the James Martin 21st Century School and a member of INET’s advisory board, affirmed “Through its membership of the James Martin 21st Century School, this new institute will benefit from linking up with some of the best minds at Oxford to develop the intellectual and professional capabilities needed to deepen and broaden economic conversations. Through fostering a collaboration with Oxford, which is renowned for its interdisciplinary strength and the quality of its research, the institute will take a fresh look at the challenges facing the world economy. I am excited that, due to the vision and generosity of George Soros and James Martin, we will be developing an interdisciplinary team of world-class academics able to address these global economic issues.”

The Institute's inaugral 4-day conference starts today Kings College, Cambridge and over 150 thought-leaders are expected to attend.

Speakers include Nobel prize winners Joe Stiglitz, George Akerlof, Michael Spence and Sir James Mirrlees, as well as Dominique Strauss-Kahn, managing director of the International Monetary Fund, Lord Adair Turner of the Financial Services Authority and Bill White, who as the former chief economist at the Bank for International Settlements.

Here is the full list of conference speakers:

Franklin Allen
George Arthur Akerlof
Markus K. Brunnermeier
Bruce Caldwell
John Cassidy
Marcello de Cecco
Charles H. Dallara
Sheila Dow
John Eatwell
J Doyne Farmer
Thomas Ferguson
Jean-Paul Fitoussi
Duncan K. Foley
Roman Frydman
James K. Galbraith
Michael Goldberg
Sanjeev Goyal
Wade Hands
Lars Peter Hansen
David F. Hendry
Søren Johansen
Simon Johnson
Katarina Juselius
William H. Janeway
Anatole Kaletsky
Frank Kelly
Richard Koo
Anton Korinek
Edward J. Kane
John Kay
Tony Lawson
Axel Leijonhufvud
Justin Yifu Lin
Andrew Lo
Perry G. Mehrling
Branko Milanovic
Sir James Alexander Mirrlees, FBA
Philip E. Mirowski
Guillermo Ortiz
Kate Pickett
Dr. Yaga Venugopal Reddy
Hélène Rey
Kenneth Rogoff
John Shattuck
Jeremy Siegel
Christopher Sims
Robert Skidelsky
George Soros
Andrew Michael Spence
Joseph E. Stiglitz
Dominique Strauss-Kann
Mark A. Thoma
Adair Turner
Harald Uhlig
William White



  • Speakers Corner (London) Ltd
    Unit 31, Highbury Studios
    10 Hornsey Street
    N7 8EL

    Tel: +44 (0)20 7607 7070 
    Fax: +44 (0)20 7700 8847 

  • Working with Rebecca and Nick was a great pleasure and seamless. Personally Speaking (Ireland bureau)

  • Footer Logos


Agile web development by Byte9