Thinkers50 2013


In 2001 the first Thinkers50 awards hit the ground running, and faster than the founders Des Dearlove and Stuart Crainer could imagine,  rose to the dizzy heights of a ‘red carpet’ event, where the nominees feel like they’ve been nominated for an ‘Oscar’ in the timeless and universal world of management and leadership thinking.

Those previously recognized in the field include Steve Jobs, Richard Branson, Peter Drucker, Bill Gates and Clayton Christensen, so it’s no wonder the winners feel like a handful of celebrity dust has been sprinkled upon them.

clayton-christensen-jpg.JPG                                                    steven-jobs-9354805-2-402-jpg.JPG                                                 bill-gates1-jpg.JPG

Dearlove and Crainer work on the basis that ideas have the power to change the world, and if their belief is upheld, this global ranking of management thinkers should continue to hold the attention of every entrepreneur, manager, business developer, investor and ambitious pioneer around the globe.

Every two years, the panel set out in search of those with brilliant minds and a vision of where the world of business is heading, and how the most influential figures in management should be setting out to achieve these lofty aims.

The selection process involves a method, including a public voting component as well as filtering for ‘influence, contribution, and originality of thought’. In the 12 years since its inception, the Thinkers50 has become the gold standard of accomplishment and credibility in the field of leadership and management.

The criteria for selection includes Relevance of ideas; Rigor of research; Presentation of ideas; Accessibility/ Dissemination of ideas and International outlook, as well as Originality of ideas; Impact of ideas; Practicality of ideas; Business sense, and Power to inspire.

The shortlist is nothing short of formidable. With familiar names like the boundlessly impressive Navi Radjou, and the notable Vijay Govindarajan, Professor of International Business, both stalwarts of the Innovation category, it’s clear that keeping up with the ever-changing universal influences and shifting permutations in the field, is the only way to maintain a secure niche on the list.

2013 Nominees

Strategy Award:

  • Erik Brynjolfsson: The Schussel Family Professor of Management at the MIT Sloan School of Management;
  • Laurence Capron: Author and professor of strategy at INSEAD;
  • Richard D’Aveni: The Bakala Professor of Strategy at the Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College;
  • Roger Martin: The former dean of Rotman School of Management at the University of Toronto;
  • Rita Gunther McGrath: An associate professor of management at Columbia Business School;
  • Cynthia Montgomery: The Timken Professor of Business Administration and former chair of the strategy unit at Harvard Business School;
  • Richard Rumelt: The Harry and Elsa Kunin Chair in Business and Society at UCLA’s Anderson School of Management; Chris Zook: A partner at Bain & Co. where he leads its Global Strategy Practice.

Leadership Award:

  • Liu Chuanzhi: The Chairman of Lenovo Group now the second-largest computer group in the world;
  • Amy Edmondson: The Novartis Professor of Leadership and Management at Harvard Business School;
  • Stewart (Stew) Friedman: A practice professor at the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania;
  • Linda Hill: the Wallace Brett Donham Professor of Business Administration at Harvard Business School, and also chairs the school’s leadership initiative;
  • Herminia Ibarra: the Cora Chaired Professor of Leadership and Learning and Professor of Organizational Behavior at INSEAD;
  • Andrew Kakabadse: Professor of Governance and Leadership at Henley Business School;
  • Liz Mellon: Author and former professor of organizational behavior at London Business School;
  • Mike Myatt: An American CEO coach, CEO of N2growth, author, and Forbes Leadership Columnist);
  • Wang Shi: A mountaineer who has scaled Everest, founder and chairman of Vanke, the world’s largest residential home developer, and a visiting scholar at Harvard;Liz Wiseman: A former executive at Oracle, President of the Wiseman Group and author.

Innovation Award:

  • Ron Adner: Author and Professor of Strategy at the Tuck School at Dartmouth College in New Hampshire;
  • Henry Chesbrough: Author and Director of the Center for Open Innovation at Berkeley’s Haas School of Business;
  • Vijay Govindarajan: Author and The Earl C. Daum 1924 Professor of International Business at the Tuck School of Business;
  • Hal Gregersen: Author and A Professor of Leadership at INSEAD; Matt Kingdon: Author and the co-founder of the innovation international consulting firm ?What If!;
  • Kai-Fu Lee: An author and blogger who now runs a venture fund, he formerly worked for Apple, Silicon Graphics, Microsoft and Google where he was the founding president of Google China;
  • Alexander Osterwalder & Yves Pigneur: Osterwalder and Pigneur are the authors ofBusiness Model Generation: A Handbook for Visionaries, Gamechangers and Challengers(self-published, 2010);
  • Navi Radjou: Author and a fellow of the Cambridge Judge Business School, where he is the former director of the Centre for India & Global Business.

The Thinkers50 2013 list has been announced, click here to see the top 50 Thinkers and to find out more about the winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Ikujiro Nonaka, click here.

Have an enquiry?

Send us a message! 

We work with 7500 speakers, with 1000 on our website. Send us a message or call us, and we will contact you within 24 hours!

Call us +44 (0)20 7607 7070

Send a Message

Get in touch with our friendly team of experts

Contact us
Contact us details