News New Year's Honours List

New Year's Honours List

Pop Princess Kylie Minogue, whose brave battle with cancer inspired millions, has said she is "deeply touched" to get an OBE in the Queen's New Year Honours.

The Australian star is joined by Michael Parkinson, the master of the TV chat show, who gets a knighthood and Des Lynam, the distinguished sports commentator, who receives an OBE for services to sport.

Lynam described the honour as "a splendid surprise" which made him feel "truly privileged".

Stuart Rose, 58, the man who turned round Marks & Spencer, gets a knighthood, heading a list of some of Britain's most successful retailers.  There are also honours for stars like the actor Sir Ian McKellen, who becomes a Companion of Honour, Julie Walters and Leslie Phillips.

A CBE is awarded to Brendan Foster, the long-distance runner and founder of the Great North Run, and an MBE for the current snooker world champion, John Higgins.  Jason Robinson was awarded the OBE as was Rachel Heyhoe Flint

An OBE goes to George Alagiah, the 52-year-old BBC news presenter and reporter who has covered major stories worldwide.

There are MBEs for people involved in rescue operations during the 2007 floods. They include Capt Tracey Palmer, of the Salvation Army in Worksop, who provided shelter for many children in the local church hall, while their parents fought to save their homes.

Have an enquiry?

Send us a message! 

We work with 7500 speakers, with 1000 on our website. Send us a message or call us, and we will contact you within 24 hours!

Call us +44 (0)20 7607 7070

Send a Message

Get in touch with our friendly team of experts

Contact us
Contact us details