News Sporting Heroes to help decide Sporting Honours List

Sporting Heroes to help decide Sporting Honours List

Former England football coach Sir Bobby Robson and Olympic gold-winning rower Sir Matthew Pinsent are part of the new sporting committee set up to help pick sporting heroes who should be given honours.

The committee will meet twice a year to draw up lists of proposed candidates to receive honours ranging from OBEs, CBEs and MBEs to knighthoods and life peerages in the New Year and Birthday honours lists. Their recommendations will go to the Main Committee, chaired by Cabinet Secretary Sir Gus O'Donnell, before being presented for consideration to the Prime Minister.

Sitting alongside Sir Bobby and Sir Matthew on the Sports Committee - chaired by former England and Wales Cricket Board chairman Lord MacLaurin - will be Paralympic gold medallist Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson, javelin star Tessa Sanderson, MCC chairman Tony Lewis and former rugby international Ian McGeechan.

Have an enquiry?

Send us a message! 

We work with 7500 speakers, with 1000 on our website. Send us a message or call us, and we will contact you within 24 hours!

Call us +44 (0)20 7607 7070

Send a Message

Get in touch with our friendly team of experts

Contact us
Contact us details